1260 Mayo (MMC 807)
420 Delaware Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Main: 612-626-0900
Fax: 612-626-4837


Home >Current Students >Student Awards : Award Descriptions

Award Descriptions

(For background information only. To view awards students can directly apply for, view Financial Assistance)

Richard G. Bond Memorial Scholarship: This scholarship was established in 1989 to provide support for a student who best exemplifies Professor Bond's dedication to the field of environmental health. Professor Bond was director of the division from 1962 to 1973, and a faculty member in the School of Public Health from 1949 until his retirement in 1979.

The Herbert Bosch Award was established in 1963 to memorialize a man who had done much to further the cause of mankind. Each year the graduating class votes for its member who "best exemplifies the traits of kindness and regard for the welfare of humanity."

Susan Goodwin Gerberich Scholarship in Injury Epidemiology and Prevention: This scholarship provides funds for graduate students in the School of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health Sciences, who are committed to study in the field of injury epidemiology and prevention. Injuries may be intentional (e.g., occupational violence; child/spousal abuse) – or unintentional (e.g., brain/spinal cord injury; motor vehicle injury; sports/recreational injury; agricultural and other occupationally-related trauma).

The Mary Lauren Olson Minnesota Environmental Health Association Scholarship Award: This scholarship was established in memory of Mary Lauren Olson who died tragically in a child-care environment; she was the beloved daughter of Steve Olson, former President of the Minnesota Environmental Health Association, and Paula Olson. The Minnesota Environmental Health Association (MEHA) Scholarship Committee, in concert with the Division of Environmental Health Sciences Student Committee, awards this Scholarship. An announcement requesting applications for this award is made annually.

The Nancy A. Robertson Endowed Graduate Fellowship in Injury Prevention: This fellowship provides one or more fellowships annually to students enrolled in a master's or doctoral program at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. Eligibility includes all graduate students enrolled at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health, with a preference for students in the Division of Environmental Health Sciences who wish to focus on the area of injury prevention.

Harold R. Shipman Award for Excellence in Environmental and Occupational Health: This award was established by Mrs. Lois B. Shipman to recognize the distinguished career of her husband. Harold Shipman was an outstanding public health engineer and alumnus of the School of Public Health. This award provides an annual award to a graduating student who demonstrates outstanding academic achievement.

The James W. Wright Scholarship: This scholarship was presented for the first time in 1996. The scholarship was a gift from Mrs. James Wright to honor the memory and professional attainments of her husband, who received an MPH in environmental health in 1955. Mr. Wright joined the World Health Organization at its inception and devoted his career to fighting vector-borne diseases.

The Faculty Excellence Award: This award, initiated by the Environmental Health Class of 1966, is presented annually to an EnHS faculty member for "excellence of graduate instruction and progress in the professional development of the graduate students in the past academic year."




















© 2009 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Contact U of M | Privacy
Last modified August 14, 2009->->
environmental health sciences school of public health university of minnesota one stop one stop one stop